Who won the latest FCA awards?

Almost there – the grand final of the Franchise Council of Australia’s Excellence in Franchising awards program is just weeks away, and the latest winners to be joining the line-up for the national event have been announced.

South Australia has just rewarded its top performers in the franchising sector.

FCA CEO Damian Paull and executive chairman Bruce Billson attended the awards and were thrilled to be a part of the successful night and celebrate the achievements in the franchising community.

“What I enjoy most about the Awards night is seeing the franchising community celebrating success together and seeing the entrepreneurial spirit alive and thriving. The quality of the finalists and winners are first class and a great example of how franchising can be a successful business model.” Paull said.

Proving that good support is fundamental to a franchise, Cheryl Catalano of Clark Rubber was named state Field Manager of the Year.

“From my perspective, it was not only an honour to be nominated by Clark Rubber, but also an honour to be a finalist. To me, it’s an opportunity to take everything that I’ve experienced and learnt, and use that to positively influence so many peoples’ lives…I’m not only proud of myself, but also of my store and all they’ve achieved,” said Catalano.

Top franchisees were The Cheesecake Shop's Vipin and Astha Chandel who took out the award for SA Single Unit Franchisee of the Year, two or more staff; and Darren Heath, V.I.P. Lawn and Gardens, named SA Single Unit Franchisee of the Year, less than two staff.

Western Australia had showcased its talents and awarded top performers in July.

Wayne Lyons and Pauline Walker of V.I.P. Home Cleaning and Ryan Willsher of Finn Franchise Brokers took out the franchisee awards. 

Field Manager of the Year was named as Stewart Bermann of Aroma Cafe, and Kate Longman of Finn Franchise Brokers was awarded State Franchise Woman of the Year.

The winners of The Paddy Thompson Award were Rob and Linda Whitesmith, winners from The Tea and Coffee Merchant.

In Victoria/Tasmania awards went to Michael and Andrea Smith of Clark Rubber, Narre Warren and Moorabbin; David and Zivanja Copsey, Poolwerx, Ringwood; Mark Gallagher, V.I.P. Lawns and Gardens, Nunawading; and Andrew Davey, Salts of the Earth, Pakenham.

All these winners join those from NSW/ACT and QLD/NT for the top awards.

The gala awards dinner to reveal the national winners in franchisee, franchisor and supplier categories will take place after the National Franchise Conference in Canberra on Tuesday 11 October.